Bethany Christian Services logo

Nick and Niki

Profile Images: /families/michigan/east-lansing/nick-and-niki/pic2.jpg
Banner Image:
Thumbnail Image: /families/michigan/east-lansing/nick-and-niki/pic2.jpg

Dear Birthparent,

Thank you for taking the time to get to know our family.  We are praying for you while you make this important decision, and we are very thankful that you chose adoption. 

Nick and I met while in college; we lived in the same dorm.  We started out as friends, but we soon began to date.  We were a couple all through college, and we married once we graduated.  We have been married for eighteen years now, and Nick and I are still best friends whose love for each other has continued to grow.  We have the same values; we are both loving, honest people who believe in God and His teachings.  These values have helped us build a solid marriage. 

Nick and I have a mutual love of movies and travel.  We like to get away to beautiful, warm places at least once a year; and we love to go to theme parks and other touristy places and just have fun.  We also try to attend a few sporting events throughout the year – a couple of Detroit Tiger’s games and college basketball and football games with a few random events thrown in.  This year we were fortunate to attend a major beach volleyball tournament and a NASCAR race.  My favorite baseball team is the Tigers but Nick’s is the Cubs.  If the Cubs are playing in Detroit, we always try to catch one of those games and root against each other.  We were both super excited when the Cubs finally won the World Series this past year.  

I played basketball and softball in high school and softball in college.  I still love athletics, and I try to stay involved as much as possible.  I like to read a lot of different types of fiction books, such as mysteries, romance, sci-fi and fantasy books.  I am a huge Star Wars fan, and I enjoy almost everything in that world.  I love the books and movies and have been known to drag Nick to the occasional Star Wars convention. 

Nick played basketball and baseball in high school and basketball in college.  He is still very involved in athletics.  He became a referee for women’s lacrosse, and that has become one of his passions.  He really enjoys getting out on the field and immersing himself in the sport.  He even worked his way up to becoming a national referee – this means he can referee any game in the country. 

We live in a small community close to Lansing, Michigan.  We like that it is close to a lot of “big city” activities and the campus of Michigan State University but still has a small town feel.  People help each other out and are friendly with their neighbors.

My parents have been married for 44 years.  They were high school sweethearts who were married once my mom finished high school. They love, enjoy and spoil their two grandchildren, and they cannot wait to spoil another.  My niece and nephew love spending time with my parents and ask to go over to their house a lot.  My sister lives in West Michigan with her husband and two children.  Although we don’t live very close to one another, we try to get together as much as possible.  We also call and text back and forth in between visits.

My dad, uncle and aunt were adopted, so I have been touched by adoption my whole life.  My dad has always been grateful to his birthmother for giving birth to him and placing him in such a loving family.  My sister and I grew up knowing that adoption was special, and our family has never thought of it as anything but a positive act – the ultimate act of love. 

Nick’s parents have been married for 52 years. When they are not spoiling their five grandchildren, they enjoy traveling and volunteering.  Nick grew up with his brother and sister in Northern Indiana.  Nick and his siblings attended a Catholic school through fifth grade.  In sixth grade they switched over to the public school.  Nick’s parents, brother and sister all still live close to where they grew up.  Nick’s brother has three children, and his sister has two.  All are active in sports, and we try to catch one game for each niece and nephew every year.

I am an administrator at an insurance company.  I have worked there for 14 years, and the company is very stable and good to their employees.  Nick works as a heating and air conditioning project manager.  He deals with the programming of heating and cooling equipment for commercial buildings.

We are so excited to have the opportunity to adopt, and we cannot wait to welcome a child into our loving family.  Our future child has a lot of people, including family and friends, who are so excited to meet him or her.

Thank you for considering us,

Niki and Nick

Facts About Our Family

Placement Status:Placement
Location:East Lansing
*The location where the adoption agency’s office is.
State:Michigan
Loading feedback