Banner Images: /girl-sitting-on-hill.jpg
Bethany Christian Services logo

Giorgio and Leila

Banner Image: /families/michigan/southeast-michigan/giorgio-and-leila/2018-01-28-15.06.54-2.jpg
Thumbnail Image: /families/michigan/southeast-michigan/giorgio-and-leila/kawar-bertellini-photo-205-diameter.jpeg

We are Leila and Giorgio. We met in the spring of 2014 on a Sunday afternoon—Easter Sunday—and went for a walk by the river in the college town where we live. We discovered that we had both come to Michigan from other places and had a shared experience of making it our home. Giorgio loves art, films, and detective novels, and also enjoys watching all kinds of sports. Leila finds inspiration in beautiful things and by exploring the world; she keeps in touch with family and friends in many different countries. Very early in our relationship we began discussing the possibility of starting a family. We decided that if we could not have a child on our own, then we would adopt. When we learned about open adoption, we decided that this was the route we wanted to take. We feel that we have a lot of love to give to a child, and that we would be supportive and encouraging parents. We welcome the opportunity to share the warmth of our extended families and to give a child an opportunity to travel and see new places.

Facts About Our Family

Location:Southeast Michigan
*The location where the adoption agency’s office is.
State:Michigan
Neighborhood: Suburban
Children:No Children

More About Our Family

We live in a new three-bedroom house next to a large park with a playground and a short drive from the university campus where we both teach. Our family life involves doing a lot of things together outside. In the summer we go the lakes on Sunday afternoons to relax, read and swim. There are so many families that spend their Sundays there. We play tennis behind our home and go on bike trips. We also garden a lot; Leila loves flowers and plants them around the house. Giorgio takes care of the lawn and the herb garden -- we grow kale and tomatoes and of course try to defend them against squirrels and groundhogs. Our shared hobbies include cooking, reading, and taking evening walks. We also love to travel and are fortunate to have an apartment that is next to the park in New York City.

About Giorgio

Profession:education
Education:Doctorate

More About Giorgio

Giorgio grew up near Milan, Italy and is proud to be both Italian and a recent American. He loves cinema (his job is to teach film history), and adores history books and mystery novels. He also enjoys watching sports and, like Leila, takes great pleasure in art and gardening.

About Leila

Profession:education
Education:Doctorate

More About Leila

Leila's parents came from England and Lebanon to Washington, DC, where she was born and grew up. She finds inspiration in beautiful things and in exploring the world. She researches and teaches about civil rights history, and her closest friends share her passion for social justice activism.

Loading feedback